Media Release: Monday February 15

By February 14, 2021 No Comments

Screen Diversity and Inclusion Network announces 2020 SDIN Award nominees

The Screen Diversity and Inclusion Network (SDIN) has announced nominees for the 2020 annual SDIN Award.

The award recognises an Australian based producer and/or production company and/or screen organisation that has made a significant contribution through excellence or impact to diversity and inclusion either on or offscreen within the Australian screen industry.

The nominees are:

  • First Day (Epic Films)
  • Maralinga Tjarutja (Blackfella Films)
  • Thalu (Weerianna Street Media)

The award will be announced by the SDIN Co-chair Benjamin Law as part of the Screen Forever online conference panel Everyone Included on Wednesday 17th February.

All SDIN member organisations nominated up to three entries each to create a long list of candidates. The final three nominees have been selected by a panel of judges including Media Diversity Australia’s Shannan Dodson, Diversity Arts Australia’s Ade Djajamihardja, AFTRS’ Gary Paramanathan and SDIN Co-chairs Benjamin Law and Jo Dillon.

The panel agreed all three projects displayed a genuine, ethical and tender engagement with their subject matter and an importantly inclusive and collaborative approach.

SDIN members include all Australian broadcasters, state and national screen agencies, guilds and business associations as well as MediaRING, FreeTV and AFTRS. SDIN members commit to supporting greater inclusiveness around workforce, talent development, training and partnerships. The SDIN Charter and a full list of members is available at


Media enquiries:

Tracey Mair, TM Publicity

[email protected]


SDIN contact:

EO Gill

[email protected]